Diggers Rugby Football Club  


Diggers History

Diggers Rugby Club was founded in 1893, which makes it one of the oldest rugby clubs in South Africa. Founding members such as Fred Frazer, Percy Alexander, Tommy Duff, Dave Eskine, Tile Corbett, W Wayland and G Ladds started the Diggers Rugby Club. Over the past 117 years we have produced the following:

  • 200 players capped for Transvaal
  • 30 Springboks, including the current President of the Golden Lions Rugby Union Kevin de Klerk
  • 3 Springbok Captains
  • 2 Vice Captains

It was decided in 1992 that Diggers Rugby Club would move from its traditional home in Springfield in the South of Johannesburg to merge with Randburg Rugby Club and they united at The Randburg Sports Complex.

Springbok Captians

Avril Malan
Dr Alex Frew
Piet Greyling
Dr Dawie de Villiers
Hansie Oelofse